top of page

My Mission: The Power of My Curls


Hello my lovelies!

I’m Chloé, two of my loves in life are languages and natural hair. My mission is to provide a space where black owned brands can get the recognition and attention they deserve. I want to use my passion for natural hair to benefit my community. I want to provide you with honest, reliable information about black owned brands and above all I want to encourage you to harness the power of your own curls.

This blog is a culmination of all the inspiration, motivation and encouragement I’ve received over the years: All the you go girls, the you can do its and the keep goings. It’s a reflection of my growth personally, spiritually and intellectually; as well as a record of the growth and achievements to come. This blog recognises the power of my curls and the power of the black community, particularly the natural hair community.

The natural hair community has gained momentum in recent years and has become so much more than just a social hub; it’s a support network and a symbol of self-love and empowerment. It’s more than just hair – it’s a statement – one that challenges and redefines the ideas of beauty in the Western world. The number of beauty bloggers and hair gurus encouraging people of colour to love their natural curls and the colour of their skin has increased exponentially: black beauty has become a lucrative business.

2017 saw the introduction of numerous natural hair lines from huge beauty brands and make up lines that catered for darker skin tones. You can now find brands directly targeting kinky and coily textures in drugstores on the high street – I’m sure that a few names have already come to mind. You’ve seen them all over the natural hair community –in monthly “favourite” videos, wash day regimens – on every occasion, these brands have received glowing reviews and a multitude of recommendations.

A few years ago you could take these testimonies at face value; however, in the world of sponsoring you can’t always be sure that money isn’t the driving force behind such high praise. These brand giants will pay the most popular curly girls in order to gain exposure and because of this, brands that once excluded and neglected the needs of those with kinky and coily hair textures are getting more publicity and profit. This is at the expense of black owned businesses that were created out of necessity and are fuelled by passion, integrity and determination.

I don’t dispute that the products sold by these companies might work for some curly textures, but profit margins will always be their main priority and not everything that glitters is gold – their other values can be and often are subject to compromise.

Passion and integrity will always carry more weight for me which is why this blog is selective and will only feature black owned brands, especially those right on my doorstep in the UK.

I am choosing to endorse brands that share the same values that I do, and share my love for natural hair care. Brands made by and for the natural hair community. Brands that I can trust. All the opinions you read here will be my own and true for me. All brands you see will be tried and tested by me. You’ll get a glimpse into my life and my journey – and learn to harness the power of your curls.

Stay tuned.

Love, Chlo

bottom of page