top of page

A Weekend in Corfu: It’s All Greek To Me


As the end of my time in Germany creeps closer, it has been growing increasingly harder to stay motivated. I’ve been slowing down in every way possible. Less travelling, fewer nights out with friends, less exploration in general. You could say that I was still in winter hibernation. After all, we did have snow in March! But I truly believe that it doesn’t matter how slow you go, as long as you don’t stop. So even with work getting me down and the longing to return home intensifying with each passing day, I flipped a switch, sprang into action and booked my Greek getaway.

I spent 3 nights on the enchanting island of Corfu, accompanied by another adventure-seeking colleague of mine, and we traded our bleak winter blues for crystal blue waters. We arrived in the small hours of a Friday morning at Kerkyra airport, but it was very easy to get a taxi to our accommodation – the Folies Apartment Hotel in Alepou Xabai. Both the taxi driver and the hotel staff were kind and helpful, going above and beyond to make us feel welcome.

Later on that morning, we bought breakfast from a bakery next to the hotel and this was our first taste of the local food. I had spinach pies and baklava, both of which I’d strongly recommend.

We made our way into town by bus – the fare was reasonable at €1.70, but the buses did not come very regularly, particularly on weekends. We wandered through Corfu Old Town to the Liston where we stumbled across the Corfu Sightseeing Train. At €8 per person we decided that it was the perfect way to cover more ground and pick the sights that we could return to. The one at the top of our list was the Old Fortress – from the top you can see an incredible view of the island and you can enjoy ice cream and other refreshments on the way up.

In the evening we dined near Liston Square, where you can find plenty of restaurants and cafés. It proved rather tricky to find one with a nice range of vegetarian options, but of course, there were plenty of traditional restaurants to suit every budget.

After dinner we walked along Garitsa Bay towards Mon Repo where we watched the sun set on our first day in Corfu.

When It comes to holidays, I favour adventure and exploration over relaxation, but the purpose of this trip was to get away and not give up on my job in Germany. So, the next day was spent in Palaiokastritsa on the beach and at €5 for a return trip, it was certainly money well spent! The view was breath-taking.

If you’re an adventurer like me, you’d love the cave tour boat trip that leaves from the beach, or you could spend some time in the aquarium nearby. But if sun and sea is what you’re after then you’ll find it here along with eateries and a shop selling beach essentials too!

I’m glad that I took the break I needed instead of packing up my bags and heading home. I had never been to Greece before, nor can I speak Greek or understand the Greek alphabet , so as a linguist it was an uncomfortable experience being completely unable to communicate with some of the locals. But there was also something otherworldly about being somewhere entirely new, and now when I think of complete relaxation, clear blue seas and moussaka – it’s all Greek to me.

I've also a got a vlog on my channel so feel free to check that out too!

https://youtu.be/Yzm4w2AqpN8

Have you planned any weekend breaks this year? I’d love to hear about your travels too.

Love, Chlo xx

bottom of page