top of page

Bourn Beautiful Naturals: The Jewel for Every Natural’s Crown

British Black owned natural hair brand

It’s no secret that I love my kinky hair, but she doesn’t always return the love on wash day. Usually, that’s when her affair with Fairy Knots and Tangles begins, but Bourn Beautiful Naturals intervened with a new wash day romance: Coils, meet Definition!

Super defined twist out

From beginning to end, Bourn Beautiful Naturals added a touch of luxury to my wash day. It was a truly sensory experience. The Moisturising Detangling Spray separated my kinky hair from her tangles; allowing the Moisturising Silk Shampoo to glide effortlessly through my hair and leaving my scalp feeling refreshed and my strands nourished and hydrated. The Coconut Cream Deep Conditioner was by far my favourite step of the process and not just because it’s my favourite colour – purple –but because my coils took an instant liking to it and were bouncy and defined. You can also keep this deep conditioner on for up to an hour.

super defined curls

I often find that half an hour is an awkward time frame to keep occupied and I would never recommend leaving on a deep conditioner for longer than the time stated. So, an hour with Bourn Beautiful Naturals was a pleasant surprise! When it comes to moisturising – as you know as you know from my YouTube videos – I like to use the LCO method (liquid, cream, oil). So, I did exactly that with the Leave Me Be leave in conditioner – which offered plenty of slip and penetrated my strands easily (an accomplishment in itself for low porosity hair!) – and the Hair Too Balm which gave my coils brilliant shine, incredible definition and had a delightful sweet orange scent.

defined twist out

I followed up with almond oil, which in hindsight, was not necessary as the balm already has plenty of oils in it. One of which is coconut oil and despite the success I had with my twist out using the balm, it doesn’t change the fact that I’m allergic to coconut oil!

So, I tried a twist out with the Curl Please! Curling Custard as well since it’s free from coconut oil and my results were just as good as the first time if not better. My hair still felt soft, smooth and moisturised days later. The custard contains babassu oil and Kadian – the genius behind these products – explained to me that it behaves in a similar way to coconut oil but without aggravating my allergies. I really appreciated the time Kadian took to explain her creations to me and how to get the most from them. I also appreciated that she used a variety of natural ingredients and natural fragrances as this meant that my allergy did not stop me from enjoying the rest of the range. I thoroughly enjoyed my wash day experiences. So much so that I gifted my mother a set for Mothers’ Day. It was easy to cater for her needs as an allergy sufferer too. She was blown away by the packaging and love that went into putting her set together and so she purchased one too for her best friend’s birthday. Using the Bourn Beautiful Hair Kit is an act of self-care and it’s one that I got to share with my curly collaborator Lynette (@ebony_natural_curls on Instagram) as part of our Curly Coily Collaboration. She has looser curls than my own but nonetheless, I’m sure she’d agree that Bourn Beautiful Naturals is the jewel that every natural need for their crown! Treat yourself to 15% off with the code “CURLCOIL15” Love, Chlo xo

bottom of page